Notices
Western VA The Virginia Tech, JMU and surrounding area forum. Introductions and regional topics go here.

a good lawyer for blacksburg area?

Old 07-06-2005, 07:30 AM
rquest77

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rquest77 has disabled reputation
Default a good lawyer for blacksburg area?

i got a ticket a few months ago (reckless on south main), pretty stupid of me to be speeding so much, but i got what i deserved and now I have to go to court. i was clocked at 89 in a 45, and this is my second ticket ever (first was in 2002, regular speeding ticket on 81). i'm an out of state student (maryland driver license), but i have to go to court in blacksburg.

so my question is, who's the best lawyer i can hire to keep my ass out of jail? currently i'm thinking about this lawyer named harriet dorsey, she says she's been working in the blacksburg court for 28 years and knows the judge and stuff like that. please, if anyone here has any experience with speeding tickets in blacksburg, help me out thanks! also, that lawyer quoted me 500 for her services, does this sound about right? the penalities i'm facing are a suspended license and possibly a few days of jail time i believe.
Old 07-06-2005, 08:10 AM
Cosmo
Registered Member

Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo
Default Re: a good lawyer for blacksburg area?

You're not going to go to jail over your second speeding ticket. If you had been drunk, maybe. But not just for speeding.
Old 07-06-2005, 08:14 AM
rquest77

but it's a reckless. and i was going 89 in a 45. isn't virginia really strict on stuff like that?
Old 07-06-2005, 08:17 AM
Cosmo
Registered Member

Nope. Especially if you go in and act like a nice person. "Yes, sir" and "no, sir" will work wonders. Don't try to pull any of that "getting off on a technicality stuff". They hate that. Go in and admit you were wrong, and they may even lower it for you.
Old 07-06-2005, 08:19 AM
Tonka Toy
2004 Danceoff Champ