Notices
NOVA/DC/MD We've expanded our NOVA forum to include the Greater DC Metro area as well as southern Maryland. Come on in and join our community!

Noob here

Old 07-25-2004, 02:18 PM
fastfoci5

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
fastfoci5 has disabled reputation
Default Noob here

wussup, Newb here! Not a newb to cars tho. I do have a question for you all. I am about to buy a 97 civic hatch for another car to just turn it into a nice sleeper. I have $6k left over. My goal is to run low to mid 12's w/ turbo. I was wondering if you could point me the right way as to should I spend the money on a motor swap and start to build up the engine or should I start buying bolt-ons here and there? any help is appreciated!!

by the way this is my first honda so I really don't know what the good brands are to get.
thanks

shawn

Last edited by fastfoci5; 07-25-2004 at 02:20 PM. Reason: change info
Old 07-25-2004, 02:26 PM
civic duty
Registered Member

civic duty has disabled reputation
Default Re: Noob here

Welcome to the board.

From what you have told us, your best bet would be to buy your swap(after determining what motor to run with) and then start building your turbo set-up. It would be wasteful to spend money on the stock d-series if your plan is to swap it later. Map out a plan and execute it.

If you are anxious to buy things for the car, suspension is a great place to start, more than likely you wont have to change your suspension set-up with your new motor set-up(if you buy quality parts)

www.honda-tech.com is a great site, but dont ask any questions there yet, just search, search, search. Go to the Hybrid section, the F/I section and the Civic room, and just learn before doing anything..

Last edited by civic duty; 07-25-2004 at 02:28 PM.
Old 07-25-2004, 02:32 PM
BlackZX3
Synthol Junkie